Discuss Does the brushed DC motor and Permanent magnet Dc motor need position feedback in the control system in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hello guys. I am an electrical electronics engineering student. I have two questions. if you answer my questions ı'll be happy. Thank you from now.

Does the brushed DC motor need position feedback in the control system? why?

Does the permanent magnet dc motor need position feedback in the control system? why?

Those questions don't make sense without context, and they also look like study questions which we won't answer for you although we'll help you answer them yourself.

If you mean position feedback to the drive electronics, then the difference lies in the method of commutation. How is a PM motor commutated? What governs the relationship between rotor position and which coil(s) are energised?

If you mean position feedback to the servo system itself, then the application dictates the answer. A lathe axis-drive and a fuel feed auger could both be part of a closed-loop control system, but only one requires positional feedback.

As noted above context is required, since you are an electronics student I suppose you are asking about DC motors, stepping motors and servo motors?

Last edited:
the speed will be directly proportional to the armature current.
I think you meant to say voltage, not current!

But the OP asks about position feedback, not velocity feedback...

Thank you for your help. I want to explain my question again.
Is the position feedback required in the brushless and brushless DC motor control system? why?. That's the question

How would you answer this question?

Is the position feedback required in the brushless and brushless DC motor control system? why?. That's the question

Welcome to the forum mate.