Discuss EICR unsatisfactory but was the report/ testing carried out also unsatisfactory? in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi, hopefully, you can help me by giving some guidance over the EICR which has failed for my rented property.
It was carried out by an electrician who is supplied via the managing agency.
The first contact I had was an email that stated the EICR had failed and some remedial work was required. Specifically: 'will need 2 new consumer units fitted to pass the EICR and comply with regulations, the existing ones are not metal clad and have no RCD protection, there is a consumer unit for the flat and another one for the storage heaters. This needs RCD protection as there is also a socket in the bathroom. The cost to install 2 consumer units including all materials would be £1100.'
I am not an electrician but I can see that changing the consumer units for metal units (they are in the hallway) with RCD protection is a good thing. So I am happy to get the work done but it feels more like an upgrade rather than fixing a currently lived in dangerous electrical environment?. From a little research, I believe the metal clad consumer unit is a recent change and not retrospective? I'm also not sure that no rcd protection is a problem as far as the report is concerned?
I asked for the EICR which was then provided. I was hoping this would clear these questions up but it has just raised more...
I have some questions:
1. I am trying to understand if there is a need to do the work which has been created by some C2s on the EICR? Should I have an EICR which passed and be able to get this work carried out without the 28 day limit? This does create time pressures that push me towards getting the work done with the creators of the report or am I too cynical?