Discuss Faulty Tridonic HF Ballasts? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

W

Westy-1

Hey,

I've been a member for a few years and used this forum occasionally to answer or confirm electrical questions i've had in the past, but this is my first time posting my own thread.

We recently had a job for a customer to install two 2x58W Cat2 HF Modular Surface fittings (Ansell I think) with Tridonic HF ballasts. These fittings were replacing old track lights. This was in an office environment. These 2 lights and 2 new tracks (with LED GU10 lamps) are the only lights on the circuit breaker.

As soon as we powered on they both worked fine for about 10 minutes until one of them suddenly went off. 20 minutes later the next one went off. I turned the switch off and on again and the same thing happened. I tried this a few times throughout the day and the problem persisted.

I contacted the Rep for Tridonic and he said they have not had any problems. He supplied 2 new ballasts. I went up the next day in my own time (1:30hr drive), as the original job was a price. Before I swapped the ballasts I switched on the lights and they stayed on for well over an hour, but I changed them anyway just to be sure. As soon as I changed them the new ballasts had the exact same problem as before?!

I was wondering if anyone has experience with Tridonic especially the HF ballasts, I've heard a few tales in the wholesalers that they have a few faulty ones?

My other question is what should I do in this position? I still have 2 faulty fittings, Im basically working for free now and the only thing Tridonic seem to do is replace the ballasts, which isn't covering my costs?

I look forward to hear from you

Westy