Discuss House Rewiring Compliance in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi I have recently purchased a 1970s semi detached house and had a full rewire and new central heating system installed by separate companies. There were a few things I was concerned with and am hoping to check with some qualified electricians before I bring it up with the electrician - I have no knowledge of electrics so for all I know the work might actually be ok.

1. The new wires that have been run under the floor upstairs are touching the copper water/central heating pipes in places is this ok? I am worried about heat damaging the cable. If this is not ok how should this be remedied - would it be the plumbers who put this right or the electrician?

2. I have requested mains smoke alarms be fitted in all rooms. At the back of the alarm where it connects to the mains the electrician has put all of the terminals in choc boxes (correct term?) however one smoke alarm just has the conductors going into the terminals with nothing around it - is this ok or should it be housed in a box?

3. Lastly under one of the bedroom floors the plumber went through a mains cable so the electrician fitted a junction box. I was worried as I had read that maintenance free junction boxes should be used in inaccessible areas - should I ask him to change this for a maintenance free one. I did ask him but he said the junction box is ok

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks

That connection of the smoke detector is appalling you should never have exposed wiring and connectors like that, "choc boxes" will not comply with the others because wiring from the detectors will still be exposed. They should be mounted on some kind of box to enclose it all or opt for detectors which do not require a separate connection from the detector.