Discuss how to wire a pipe stat in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectriciansForums.net

Much better to play it safe. Get somebody who knows how to do it and observe how he does it so that next time you will know what to do.

If he gets someone in to do the job properly / safely then it should'nt need doing again. Just watching someone doing a job once does'nt make you competent to do the job yourself, Electrical work like Gas should be left to people who know what they're doing & have the test equipment / knowledge to prove it's safe on completion. Electrocution can be pretty final:shocked:

Last edited by a moderator:
hello, well after reading this amusing thread :shades_smile: and for the record I will say I am a qualified gas engineer with part p and 17th edition qualifications, and I have two installations both with solid fuel stoves connected to c/heating systems having a pipe stat wired correctly to switch on a pump at 40 degrees which it does... however the stat opens when pipe gets much hotter so switching off the pump...causing kettling and venting this is not a condition we want.. so how does one remedy this ?

If one then turns the stat to 80 degrees or so the pump will then run again .. this is not how the stat is supposed to function when wired to close during rising temp... Should it not stay closed until temp drops below 40 degrees and then switch off the pump ?:stuart:

Additionally, when the fire goes out and the temperature drops below 40 degrees the stat fails to open leaving the pump running when it ought to have switched off.... The stat used are the Salus pipe stat ...

Any and all comments most welcome... even sarcastic ones :crazy:
Thanks guys