Discuss I want Smart Soffit Lights. in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi

I have outside lights in my soffit which is controlled via this timer you push the legs up of it to come on or off at which ever time you put in,

I want to make this smarter to fit in to the whole smart home genre,

I want to be able to control this on and off with either Smartthings or RF (which in turn i can control via Alexa / Google)

So i can turn off when ever i like rather than constantly programming the timer.

What will i need to have this do what i want.

(no i am not an electrician nor a joiner although the wife think’s i am all these magical people all in one) LOL

I will get a professional in to do it, just want to find out whats involved.

Thanks

I want Smart Soffit Lights. IMG_0638 - EletriciansForums.net

Timeguard do a switched fused spur which is Wifi enabled ..... this may do the trick ...........however I doubt it will connect to a 3rd party application ......... so I suggest you get somebody local to check it out properly

Just did a quick Google and this came up. See if its what you want/need. There are quite a few things out there.

The OP will need to ensure there is a Neutral at the switch position.

According to the OP "I will get a professional in to do it." so its down to him/her.

OP: As @Pete999 has pointed out, the switch I have posted does need a neutral. Have a work with the electrician who will be installing the switch before you buy one. They can check what wires you have.

There must be a neutral present for timeclock to work.

TPLink do a 13A socket adaptor that can be controlled directly from Alexa, no wifi hub required. They don't do a lightswitch version yet, which is strange.

Stick a link up for the OP @littlespark .

Smart lights: