Discuss Installing induction hob+electric oven...separate circuits or same? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
New kitchen - induction hob at 7.4kW (32amp) and oven at 3.6kW (16amp) max ratings. Existing outlets are:
1. 45amp fused cooker circuit
2. fused socket off ring main (32A fuse)

Can both oven and hob be connected off the one 45amp cooker circuit? That's right up to the maximum.

Or can the oven be connected to the ring main?

Or does the oven require its own circuit - that would be an extra installation and need rewiring to the fuse box.

Hi - I'm not a qualified electrician but I build a lot of electronics, so familiar with calculations and wiring stuff up. What I want here is a correct plan so I know what the installation is likely to be and how it affects the layout of the rooms and units.

I've read a lot of posts on this already, and you might be surprised how much they vary. For example, even electricians say they're fine with twin and earth, where cooker manufacturers always specify heat resistant cable. I already bought Butyl coated 6mm cable for the induction hob, which meets the standards of heat resistance.

I'm hoping this forum can offer me a more definitive answer to this fairly common question.

There are some variables, and sitting from here its to easy to take things for granted. OP there is a factor called diversity that can be applied to these circuits & appliances, but there is also a recommendation about ovens/hobs etc, with a load of more than 2kw having their own radial.

The first question would be exactly what does your 45amp fused cooker circuit consist of?

The first question would be exactly what does your 45amp fused cooker circuit consist of?
Absoluutely. 45Amp is quite an unusual rating for a circuit (not unknown, but unusual). What makes you think it is 45 amps?

So, need to know
1. the size of the fuse or MCB in the consumer unit that protects this "cooker" circuit