Discuss is anybody a self employed electrician not under a scheme? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi guys, just after some insight on personal experience of starting a company without being a member of nic,napit ect.

in a nut shell im a qualified electrician with my 2391-52, I work for a company full time and I have a few potential clients lined up, i want to register as a business and do these side jobs legit.

for the time being it is going to be ran as a side business with no conflict of interest with my current employer. So I'm looking into a starting revenue and a way to keep the cost down, i.e. submitting my own certs. i get that the insurances are a must.

has anybody been in the same situation or currently opperating outside of a scheme that can share some information, experience or reccomendation?

thanks in advance

you can do non-notifable jobs and certify them (EIC or MWc). when you go for notifiable work, do a couple of jobs for assessment, then notify once joined. several threads aboult this on the forum.

I’ve recently got back on the tools after previously being in one of the scams err schemes and tried to do non notifiable work and/or use Napit 3rd party sign off but if just didn’t work. Cost/effort/difficulty using Napit or building control for notifiable means you can’t compete with those in a scheme and appear unprofessional regardless of the reality. In the end had to grin and bear it and rejoin niceic - first two jobs paid for the fee so worth it I’d say don’t bother trying to be outside of a scheme if you want to do it properly/legitimately

Hi guys, just after some insight on personal experience of starting a company without being a member of nic,napit ect.

in a nut shell im a qualified electrician with my 2391-52, I work for a company full time and I have a few potential clients lined up, i want to register as a business and do these side jobs legit.