Discuss Maintenance spark without NVQ - what can/cant you do? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi all, first time poster!

Was doing a bit of a job search today (have recently come out of the motor trade :eek:) and came across an advert for a general maintenance person for a care home, doing odd jobs inside out (including PAT testing patients electricals they bring onsite)

I have a Level 2 Diploma (C&G 2365) in electrical installation (17th edition) but that's as far as I've taken it - no part P scheme, no NVQ - and this job advert got me to wondering if I'd be legally allowed to do any electrical works on such premises.

I know in your own residential property you can change existing light fittings, sockets and switches so long as you're not adapting current (or creating new) circuits and I'm curious if the same guidelines apply to a place of work like a care home. I would see it as a bonus being able to explain this in a job application if so.

Appreciative of any advice!

- On an unrelated side note, i'd be interested in acting as a bit of cheap labour and learning some new skills such as plastering, tiling etc if anyone operating in the West Yorkshire area might be looking for such an arrangement. Im reliable, hard working, and take a lot of pride making my work neat and professional. Also experienced in painting and cutting/fitting skirting boards. pop us a message if you want to discuss the possibility.