Discuss PAT Testing 16th Edition Electrician in the Electrical Testing & PAT Testing Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Roy Littlewood

Hi All.

I have been qualified as JIB Approved 16th edition electrician since around 1990 and have been working on industrial electrical systems almost up to the 17th edition came out, I didn't see much point doing the 17th edition as i don't need it in my job as I now work mainly on CEO machinery installation, commissioning and software (internationally).

My question is, as a 16th edition electrician I am capable of doing PAT testing and have done many times in the past during my electrical career, but am I still deemed as able to do the PAT testing for my company, which is mainly computers, laptops, office equipment and some power tools.

I have looked at online courses but to be honest I'm thinking it wont tell me much that I don't already know, so is it worth me taking an online training course or will me existing qualifications cover me for PAT testing?

As long as you are competent you can carry out PATesting although it's not called PATesting now it is, "In Service Inspection and testing of Electrical Equipment or ISTEE for short" no special qualifications needed, but you may like to get a copy of the code of Practice before you start.

No quals required
Absolutely agreed. But as I say I have had drummed into to me regards competence, it shows you are if you have the paper to prove it and that gets rid of one onerous legal strike against you if things go wrong. Certainly agree though no qualies required. Just saying.

Is that correct, I had 6 weeks on a Pat course,passed my exam & got certificate.
Mind you it got a bit boring after 2 weeks,there's only so much your tutor can talk about on that subject.
Yes it is true, 6 weeks PATesting course, cliffed sorry mate you have been had