Discuss Rewire a kitchen advise needed in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi I'm just starting out on my own and i've got my first semmy big job and iam looking for some advise with it.

the kitchen is on the upstairs ring with the boiler so I'm looking at taking it off that ring and putting a new ring in just for the kitchen and moving the cooker point (which also needs putting on the rcd side of the cu)

I have called Lbc and they will come out when first fix is done then when the job is complete and the have told me to do all the testing myself.

Sorry for the long post

Well good luck with that just don't be fazed.

Kitchens are a real individual thing, ok wiring front rooms, bedrooms and such as it's a few sockets and a copule of lights. A kitchen though is an individual design and talking to your client is the best way to do things.

A few things I would want in my kitchen rather than a ring perhaps 2 radials. If the ring trips then everything goes, 2 radials then you may be lucky and keep half the sockets working.

Cookers. I would personally run a 10mm^. I know the OSG in appendix 8 states a 15kw cooker can be fitted to a 32 amp device, personally I would run a 10mm^ for any future upgrades that is within reason, and fit a 45amp breaker.

All undercounter appliances I would run off a radial of 4mm^ into double pole switches and then from there to undercounter sockets.

Lighting is so important, make sure you can have good lighting throughout, try and get them away from downlighters as such. I would want ligting in zones, so perhaps ceiling in 2 zones, the under counter in another zone and even LED lights at floor level for the pelmits. Have all these on individual switches.

I'm sure there are many more suggestions, but the bottom line is what your client wants, within reason and giving it to them with advice and suggestions trown in.