Discuss Route to becoming a qualified electrical contractor in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi

I'm currently studying my level 2 diploma in installation. I understand I'm a long way off yet but I'm confused about how one actually becomes a self employed qualified electrical contractor. I know an apprenticeship is the best route but what if this isn't avalible or you don't get taken on.

I've been told by my lecturers that you must complete the level 2 & 3 diploma then complete an nvq assessment and then sit your AM2. And along the way you must gain your 17th and inspection and testing.

Can anyone clear this up? I know you would need experience also, but is it essential, as in, without it you cannot become qualified.

Thanks

Hi

I'm currently studying my level 2 diploma in installation. I understand I'm a long way off yet but I'm confused about how one actually becomes a self employed qualified electrical contractor. I know an apprenticeship is the best route but what if this isn't avalible or you don't get taken on.

I've been told by my lecturers that you must complete the level 2 & 3 diploma then complete an nvq assessment and then sit your AM2. And along the way you must gain your 17th and inspection and testing.

Can anyone clear this up? I know you would need experience also, but is it essential, as in, without it you cannot become qualified.

Thanks

If you are considering going self employed then experience of working under a highly experienced mentor is the most valuable and essential thing you will need. You'll be floundering around like a blindfolded chimp in a hall of mirrors if you don't have a few years of good all round mentoring under your belt.

The qualifications and core knowledge is also essential, but useless without knowing how to put it into practice.

Hi

Thanks