Discuss Testing portable welfare units with built in generator in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

isk57

-
Reaction score
Hi
I’ve recently tested a unit and rcd times are fine and R1R2 but Ze and Zs are High values and are not within bs7671 for a tns supply , I don’t really know what ze I should be getting to start with and would it be better treating it as a TT ,I will admit I’ve never done one before and only done houses

Hi
I’ve recently tested a unit and rcd times are fine and R1R2 but Ze and Zs are High values and are not within bs7671 for a tns supply , I don’t really know what ze I should be getting to start with and would it be better treating it as a TT ,I will admit I’ve never done one before and only done houses
I do a lot of mobile medical units that have either built in or stand alone generators.
Dont forgot a generator is not going to give you the best Zs as it has a high impedance because of how its built and works.
Dealing with generators in the 7909 world small sets can be set up diffrent ways, INS, TNS but rarely TT and unless your deploying a rod for a true TT rather than for a TNS dont think of treating it as TT.
Most built in small sets wont be able to deliver enough fault current for the CBs it will just stall instead. There is a big reliance on the RCD. Have a look in 7671 at mobile and transportable units also 7909 if you have it or one of the guides to 7909 theres some really useful generator diagrams aimed towards OB units mainly but a lot of the principles are the same.
[automerge]1575409173[/automerge]
I do a lot of mobile medical units that have either built in or stand alone generators.
Dont forgot a generator is not going to give you the best Zs as it has a high impedance because of how its built and works.