Discuss Upgrading a CU on a domestic property requirements in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all, I wonder if you can help me out please.

I have been approached by family friend to upgrade their CU in a home they are looking to sell. I am a registered Electrician, but do not hold my Part P qualification as the heavy majority of my work is done on Commercial works.

I am fully capable of doing the work, but am uncertain whether I am permitted to do the work without Part P, and I don’t know whether I need to have this signed off by anyone/an authority?

If anyone could help me out here, that would be great. Thanks

TM

just do it. provide a EIC ( plenty of generic forms about to fill on computer or scribble hand write ). sod part pee. nobody ever been taken to task. councils are too busy evicting tenants. or .....date the job as 2004. tin hat on.

and from your OP. you'll probably do abetter job than a 5 week DI with a niceic badge, but otherwise clueless.

What Tel said!

Disagree.

When selling a property, you are required to fill out and sign a legal document, that asks various things, one of which is if any electrical works have been carried out on the property since 2005. Compliance Certification is required, if such is necessary.

Of course you could just lie, but the absence of a Compliance Cert, might be a deal breaker for the buyer, and also might prove tricky telling porkies to your solicitor.

telling porkies to your solicitor.

that's rich. lawyers are the biggest porkie tellers since doubting thomas denied jesus.

It might depend on the local council, I think some are happy for certification by non-scam members if they can demonstrate electrical qualifications & experience, etc.

Do you know anyone local who could third party certify for you?

Disagree.