Discuss Wago connectors and amp ratings in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Richard Cook

-
DIY
Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm not an electrician and don't intend to do anything above and beyond the standard DIY changing of sockets/lights etc but I have a question that I'm interested in learning more about.

I recently came across the Wago connectors (which look to be a lot easier to use than the standard screwed connectors) but I was a little confused by which ones to use for which applications.

I was looking at the Wago 221 series (Wago 5-Way Lever Connector 221 Series 32A Pack of 25 - http://www.screwflix..com/p/wago-5-way-lever-connector-221-series-32a-pack-of-25/5201r), which are 32A, and I'm guessing because they're 32A I would use these on a socket ring circuit (as this tends to be 30A, yes?). And then if it was a lighting ring circuit (as this tends to be 20A, yes?) I would use a 24A connector such as this: Wago 4-Way Push-Wire Connectors 24A Pack of 100 - http://www.screwflix..com/p/wago-4-way-push-wire-connectors-24a-pack-of-100/9014r

Firstly, am I correct? Secondly, what would happen if you used a 32A connector on a lighting circuit? I can guess if I used 24A connector on a socket ring circuit it would blow but what about the other way around? Is there a danger to that too? Am I right that a lightning circuit uses 2.5mm cable (which is 2oA) and socket circuit uses 4mm cable (which is 30A).