Discuss What Happens During Meter Calibration in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
as some of you know my background is as an electrician in the RAF mainly working on 3 phase machines including generators. When it comes to meter calibration they are always done and any meter found to be out of calibration is quarantined until it’s been done.

My new employer seems much more cavalier. My supervisor was told 3 weeks ago the Fluke he’d provided was about to go out of calibration at the end of November. Here we are on the 13 Dec and I’ve spent the week fault finding with it on 690v equipment still out of calibration.

Now for the type of tests I was doing I don’t need it to be pinpoint accurate. Is there voltage or not? Is there continuity or not? Despite that I’m still uncomfortable using it right now.

I have to admit to not really knowing what happens when they go for calibration. Is it also a safety check for instance or is it purely making sure it reads correctly? Is it standard as a civilian to calibrate your equipment or is it more one of those things you should do and probably will when you get around to it?

I’m trying to gauge how hard I want to push this with him.

to comply with BS7671 and scams like niceic, all meters should be calibrated annually. this entails checking them for accuracy on all scales. i always wait for a wholesalers free cal. day and get mine done with free bacon bap and coffee thrown in. sometimes i may even buy someting.

Last wholesaler calibration day I overheard the manager say all the instruments presented passed. That was around 100 test instruments. None of which required 're-calibrating'. Money for old rope imo. I know if my meter isn't working properly. If it starts throwing out funny results I'll soon notice.

In other words don't worry about a few weeks.