Discuss Why do my bathroom light switches keep failing? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

sammy7boy

Hi folks this is my first post on this forum. I have no electrician qualifications but i DO have a degree in physics and know about electricity: i'm a teacher and teach GCSE and A-level students about current, voltage, power, resistance, resistivity, DC, AC, frequency, electromotive force, kirchhoff's laws, internal resistance, potential divider circuits blah blah blah.

Despite this, I am completely and utterly dumbfounded and baffled by my bathroom light switch situation! I've had five bathroom light switches fail on me in almost as many months and need to install a sixth! I've now tried almost every brand/model of 1-way pull cord switch in the Screwfix catalogue, including MK and Crabtree, and they've all died exactly the same death. They work fine for a few weeks, then they get sick: you need to tug the cord two or three times to switch the lights on. Finally, they die a death, and no amount of pulling can switch on the lights. You replace the switch (with a different brand of light switch just in case) but it follows exactly the same ill-fated life as the last.

This time I decided to open up the switch mechanism of the dead Light Switch the Fifth to investigate what had happened. No dust or anything inside. No corrosion on the contacts. No water or damp. The switch is on a circuit that's powering six 4W LED spotlights and an extractor fan (of around 20W i guess) so the switch should only have a measly 0.2A of current flowing through it - miles below its current rating. The bathroom is not particularly humid and during the summer months the window is open pretty much all the time anyway. There is no damp or anything else untoward on the plaster of the ceiling where the switch is screwed into.