Discuss 8 bedroom 8 bathroom property in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectriciansForums.net

Amar

-
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
Just joined the forum today, hoping to pick your brains now and again as I've been watching as a guest for a while and found it to be a friendly and knowledgeable place to be!

I'm an Electrician myself and run a electrical and building contractors within the west midlands.

As the thread says I'm refurbishing what was a 6 bedroom 3 bathroom property and converting it to an large 8 En suited bedroom property spread over 3 floors. The property has a cellar also. Basically what I'm trying to figure out before I get any heating engineers out to give me a price ( we are unfortunately Gas Safe registered yet) is the best way to control/supply the house with hot water and heating.

My idea was the have everything in the cellar if this permits against any gas safe/fire regulations, can be fire boarded if required (gas meter is located there, ceiling height in cellar in 2m)

So I was thinking of having a separate boiler just for heating the -
- 12 x 1200mm x 700mm double radiators
- 9 x 300mm x 400mm x single radiators

and a separate system boiler for the hot water required for En suites and kitchen sinks.
I've guessed the unvented cylinder size needed to be around 500 litres, 50 litres for each person. overkill?? and 12 litres/ person for kitchen/bathroom sinks/ day.

The last thing we want is to run out of hot water. As bills will be included we have to take into account tenants taking the p**s a bit when showering although I will be supplying eco shower heads and taps which I'm hoping will reduce the litres used.

At the same time we would like the system to be as efficient and cost effective as possible.

7 day programmers for each boiler??

I'm not a heating engineer, just know a bit of basic plumbing so please if you can advise on any other options out there, thermos store, heat pump. It would really be appreciated.