Discuss Becoming a Domestic Installer in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

B

ben9790

Hi All,I'd like to get the qualifications needed to become a domestic installer and self certify/sign off my own work. I'm currently a security engineer so do have a good knowledge of electronics. I've looked at multiple courses from the likes of Able Skils and trade skills for you etc.My question is, have any of you guys taken such courses, were they any good and which ones are the best?Any input would be appreciated. Thanks. Ben.

The best course you can do is an apprenticeship, the other 'short courses' you have mentioned will just take as much money from you as they can and leave you with enough knowledge to be a danger to yourself and others.

The best course you can do is an apprenticeship, the other 'short courses' you have mentioned will just take as much money from you as they can and leave you with enough knowledge to be a danger to yourself and others.
Well said Dave, 480 quid a year to call myself a spark (over 20 years exp!) if i'd known when i was training that i'd have to cough up nearly 500 quid a year to go to work i'd have picked a wet trade. What i do is basically all i know as the bills don't stop coming, just hate having to pay so much on top of everything else (rant over, sorry chaps)

Stay in yourcurrent job if possible, do a proper course and gain your core quals while working alongside a experiencedspark at weekends etc and you will become a proper Electrician. Look at it this way could you do the job your doing at the moment with only a few weeks training in a classroom!!