Discuss Electric Flow Boiler - Tripping consumer unit in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Evening all,

I've just joined the forum after coming up short with answers on my internet search for potential solutions to my electric boiler problems. Complete electrical novice here & would have any suggestions for solutions completed by an electrician. For context, I live in an apartment block with electric only supply & have an electric 'column' boiler installed.

Reason for posting
The boiler trips out it's consumer unit after c. 25 minutes of being on. The consumer unit can then be tripped (?) back on, and the process repeats. There is still full function of radiators and the property will heat when the boiler in on.

I believe the issue initially stems from when I replaced the batteries of the timer/thermostat. I had to take the thermostat off the wall to remove battery corrosion and from then on even with new batteries the device wouldn't work - possibly knocked a wire, unsure. As such, I had a Nest Thermostat installed which has not solved the problem. The Nest will work whilst the boiler is tripped on, but will turn off due to lack of power supply when the boiler trips the consumer unit.

I'm here to try and understand the issue, as the best solution so far has been a new boiler - obviously would prefer to avoid that.

Boiler is an Electroheat Plc C-1200 - I believe these are pretty old units?

Apologies for the wordy thread, but hopefully this gives a good idea of the issue. Any advise would be genuinely appreciated.

Ross.

Last edited by a moderator:
There are a number of possible causes.

Probably best to bite the bullet and get someone out to diagnose and repair.

Hi Ross - can you advise what trips and you reset? Picture please :)