Discuss First Steps To Becoming A Domestic Electrician? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

D

davelee

So guys I'm looking into becoming a sparky, domestic installer to start with to be precise, now I know a lot of you will be time served and shoot me down for asking but I'm 32 now and want to change my life plans regarding my job.

Now I've some experience in helping my buddy who did an apprenticeship and I'm about to purchase and study the yellow bible 17th edition regs book

what at would be the choice for the theory course you guys would recommend me look into first? I am currently working and I am not in the electricians trade so I have cash to put in and could book a few weeks off to do smaller courses

I have seen a combination of courses for example...

city and guilds 4141-01 looks basic but it's a qualification
city and guilds 2392-10 inspection and testing

i value all your help and input but I'd like to know what the minimum would be to get me into a job and then I would increase my knowledge and training further

thanks guys

if you are currently in a reasonably secure job, consider doing the 2356/7 at college, evenings. OK, it will take you some time, but at the end of it, you'll get a JIB card which will enable you to gain employment on the industrial side. far better work than breaking you back and crippling your knees doing domestic crap.

Haha nice advice mate. I am in a pretty secure job currently yes

I have looked at that course only downside is.....

If you have previously completed the City & Guilds 236 Part 1 and 2, 2360 Part 1 and 2 or the 2352 Certificate in Electrical Installation and have electrical experience we can now offer this brand new NVQ qualification.