Discuss Handy notes to keep in phone in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I have all the new brown books and other electrical books but I was thinking it might be a good idea to keep a note in my phone of things I'm probably gonna want to know/check frequently. I'm still an apprentice. Should be qualified this year... And I think this might be a good way to hammer down some important things. I also only really do domestic stuff so far.
I have so far written down the ccc of cables that we use a lot (with relevant methods) and the voltage drop equation with the pages. Also zones for drilling joists. Max ze types. Any recommendations for something handy I should note? Thanks in advance.

How your boss likes his tea...😉

That's a good idea though
Maybe some max disconnection times... a few key bs numbers (61008, 61009 etcetc) bathroom zones, rcd trip times...

To some extent that is the purpose of the On-Site Guide, it has the 90% of stuff commonly used in it, for example, Table 7(i) for standard circuits, Table 7.1(ii) for common CCC, and Appendix B with disconnection Zs values.

I guess having stuff like that on your phone is handy, but a £300+ phone getting trashed is harder to bear then a £30 book!

However, having a cheap-ish phone for work is a very good idea as photos taken before/during/after any work can be so handy when writing up invoices and if any queries from EICR occur, etc. And the phone typically stores location and date in the photo files so easier to get the right ones to match.

How your boss likes his tea...😉

That's a good idea though
Maybe some max disconnection times... a few key bs numbers (61008, 61009 etcetc) bathroom zones, rcd trip times...
Haha I don't think I've ever actually made him a tea funnily enough! (He prefers coffee)
Okay after work I'll look into the bathroom zoning. I think I got rcd trip times stapled to the brain though
5x30ma should trip at 40ms or less
1x30ma should trip 200ms or less