Discuss Help and Advice For New Installation In Celotex PL4065 in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

S

SMG

Hello all,

First of all I would like to say if anyone comes here just to have a go because I'm not as experienced or knowledgeable as them etc.. then please do not comment just move along, I am here asking questions to learn not be belittled.

Now, I am a newly qualified electrician and have been asked to run the 1st fix for someone in a new house extension.

The drawing states:

Internal dry lining 65mm Celotex PL4065 + 12.5mm Plasterboard - Taped Joints.

To my understanding this will be most likely adhered to the new block work directly is this right?

Now do I fix the cables for the new ring main direct to the block work in an oval conduit, then instruct the guys installing the celotex to cut the insulation out around the cable ends where the PB boxes will go or is there another/better way to do it?

Any suggestions are welcome as long as they are constructive lol

Many thanks in advance

Why go to the trouble of fixing metal boxes when you have plasterboard and a big void in behind ? You're also relying on 'others' to cut the plasterboard really accurately around the boxes which is a rare thing to see these days.

Because it's the way I was taught to do things on my apprenticeship and see no reason to fit plastic boxes as an alternative.

They don't have much choice about cutting out for the boxes if they are set to the right depth to be flush with the front of the board.

And plasterboard boxes don't fit so well in insulation backed board anyway