Discuss Just tried to change outside light ..Help please in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Newbie here
I have just bought a sensor led light that i wanted to replace outside light. There is a 1 way switch on internal wall

I've just tried to do it today and ......

And cannot get it to work

1. Old fitting worked with neutral, live and earth connected with a connecting block
2 Took old fitting down and connected led outdoor led light https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Brackenheath-I1028B-20W-ispot-Ultra-thin-LED-Floodlight-Microwave-Sensor-Black/173724669715?epid=734223225&hash=item2872cc1713:g: YPAAAOSwZbVcMKOr:rk:1f:1&frcectupt=truewith a box as above , connected neutral to neutral, earth to earth and live to live
3 Switched on and did'nt come on
4. Thought maybe faulty light fitting so put a plug on it and it worked straight away plugged into socket
5. Tried new light fitting again with old connector block and nothing
6 Put old light fitting on and it worked

I thought it was just a matter of rewiring the existing 3 wires lol. Yes I will get an electrician out to check if it isn't something stupid that i should/shouldn't be doing

I cannot work this out and would appreciate some help, ill up load any pics if needed

thanks in advance

Ignore just come on as it got dark lol

must have been sensor although instructions said it should light up immediately after setting sensor settings lol

At the moment its on longer than the 5 minutes so must be just working with the switch

Ill go look at instructions again to get it back onto auto lol

thanks for looking

i feel a right dummy

On the back of the sensor there's two small dials. One controls light level and the other duration that the light is on.

On the back of the sensor there's two small dials. One controls light level and the other duration that the light is on.

yea seen these, although light is stoppi g on for longer than 5 mins