Discuss LED strip lighting, DMX decoders, power supplies, controllers....help! in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm not an electrician so I need help! I thought this would be a fairly straightforward job but there's so many options, I don't know which to choose. Basically, we have boxed around the edge of our lounge to allow for downlighters and LED strip lights to reflect off the ceiling. We need 18m in total (2x 5m and 2x 4m). I have sourced some CCT adjustable white 24V 5m strips with an output of 18W per metre:

CCT Colour Temperature Adjustable 2000 Lumes 120 LED Strip Light 24V DC 9W 2700K & 6500K (5 Metre Reel) - https://www.ultraleds.co.uk/cct-colour-temperature-adjustable-2000-lumes-120-led-strip-light-24v-dc-18w-2700k-6500k-5-metre-reel.html

One company my other half rang said we needed a DMX decoder and I understand that can handle all four strips:

Constant Voltage DMX512 Decoder SR-2102B - http://www.sunricher.com/constant-voltage-dmx512-decoder-sr-2102b.html

A controller:

www.sunricher.com/dmx512-cdw-dimmer-master-sr-2201.html

And a power supply….18m x 18W = 324 + 20% = 389W. It seems very difficult to find a power supply that will accommodate that much power and be dimmable.

So, I've got some questions I'd really appreciate some help with:

1) Is this even the best setup for what we're trying to achieve - dimmable, colour temperature changing white LED strips around the room? Is there a better option?
2) If this is right, what power supply would be appropriate?
3) The room is a rectangle - how best to join the strips? Solder or Hippo clips? Anything else?

Any other advice or alternative ways to achieve what we want would be welcome - thanks in advance!

Dan