Discuss Length of tails between meter and consumer unit in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Gigsy

-
Reaction score
Hi,

I am currently studying for my 18th edition regs update exam and came across a video by
SparkyNinja on you tube.

I think SparkyNinja is very good and produces high quality content.

However I disagree with his interpretation of regulation 434.2.1 (i)

In his video he says you need a fused isolator between the DNO's meter and a consumer unit if the cable is longer than 3 meters. I have heard this before but I do not think this is what the regulation is saying.

I think the regulation is saying you can put a fused isolator between the meter and consumer unit if you reduce the tails from 25mm2 to 16mm2 within 3 meters of the 16mm2 tails.

I am not sure if I am reading this right and would like to get the opinion of someone more educated than I.

Please find below a link to the video in question. The part I refer to is at time 47 minutes.

Am I right in saying you could use 25mm2 SWA for a run longer than 3 meters between the meter and consumer unit, without the need to install a fused isolator?

Am I right in saying you could use 25mm2 SWA for a run longer than 3 meters between the meter and consumer unit, without the need to install a fused isolator?

No because DNO's do not permit the tails from the cutout to the customers first protective device to exceed 3m, technically I believe this is supposed to include the tails from cutout to meter.

Hi,

I am currently studying for my 18th edition regs update exam and came across a video by
SparkyNinja on you tube.

I think SparkyNinja is very good and produces high quality content.

However I disagree with his interpretation of regulation 434.2.1 (i)