Discuss Microwaves and kettles all failed Class 1 test in the Electrical Testing & PAT Testing Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
HI guys, new to PAT testing and here. I recently completed an online course in order to carry out PAT tests annually in 10 rented houses. Unfortunately all the microwaves and kettles in each property failed Class 1 testing. I am using a Martindale HPAT 400 tester and am obviously doing something wrong or overlooking something. Please can anyone help? Thank you x Sharon

I've got no experience of these basic PA Testers so don't know if it tells you what it's failed on but as they are all class I I assume it's earth bond? You are using the earth probe and connecting it to a bare metal part of the kettle/m'wave? Don't try on any painted parts

Once, many moons ago, there were metal kettles that fails the bond test as t'was to the element's sheath that was favoured by the Earth.

And lo! Had they used conductive water the outer would have measured the Lord's conductance and seen it was good!

Sounds like you are having a problem with the earth bond test (Class II does not require this test). As above you need to ensure the earth bond test lead is in good contact with the earthed metalwork, for a microwave they normally have four screws on the lower edge holding the case in place. For the kettle you need to contact the element if it is a plastic kettle but metal kettles the actual metal parts should be earthed.

Last edited:
Think about it, the only difference between class 1 and 2 tests is the. Earth bond test.
How are you doing the test?