Discuss Newbie - Qualified Maintenance Electrician looking for advice on career options in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to the forum. I am a Maintenance Electrician on a gas plant and have been doing my current job for 7 years, I have just finished a HNC in Electrical Engineering this year and I am looking for a bit of a change. I didn't do the HNC for the purpose of moving on or changing career however now that its finished I am feeling a bit stuck in my current job.
I am not really sure what I want to do though, I don't feel totally happy in my current job but I don't really fancy going up to a management role. I have had a look about on the job boards but I am just looking for other advice/ suggestions/ideas on what other electrical jobs are out there that I could aspire to do other than just moving to a new company but pretty much doing the same job. That may well be the answer to my problems but I want to look at more options than that before I decide.
I hope this makes sense and any advice/suggestions would be appreciated.

There's not many females in the electrical industry so a big kudos to you.

If you've worked on a gas plant you must have some experience of control circuitry.
It is a hard vocation to get into because there aren't as many job opportunities out there in the controls industry but I've been doing it for nearly 30 years and I still thoroughly enjoy it.
Control circuits in my opinion present more of a mental challenge compared to domestic / commercial electrical installations and the work is more varied than a static plant based maintenance electrician, with the right placement you can travel the country or even the world.

If you've worked on a gas plant you must have some experience of control circuitry.