Discuss Petition: Make working with electricity a criminal offence unless qualified in the Industrial Electricians' Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

Alessandro

Hi, I found this petition and thought I should post it here. I googled the forums and couldn't find a similar post.

https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/122444

I'm not sure how good or bad the situation is in the UK, but I've heard and read enough to be worried. I read in more than one place that this is one of the few countries in Europe where anyone can work with electricity. No licence or qualification is needed. What are the real dimensions of this "problem"?

I am an apprentice electrician and I am studying like I've never studied before in my life. There is a LOT to know and interminable complexities, requirements, standards to meet. I am studying Inspection and Testing now (2365 L3), I've put thousands of hours of study into the science, design etc and I can't possibly imagine how someone who never studied this stuff before can work as an electrician.

I can't understand how anyone could decide to work with electricity just because they know someone who does. I study with people who have been working with electricity for YEARS sometimes, and all they do is cowboy jobs that violate laws, best practices, they work live to make clients happy, they fill in forms with made up numbers ("nobody ever checks", this guy told me once). I've heard enough to feel quite angry, it's like it's all a big joke and if you are concerned about safety or doing things properly, according to best practices, the law, the regs, then you are an idiot. I was discussing safe isolation with a guy who has been doing cowboy jobs for a year (and considers himself competent) and he was laughing at me, "nobody does it, just check with a voltage stick and put tape on it".

Is being electrician in the UK a big joke or something? Please sign the petition if you agree!

Last edited by a moderator: