Discuss Thinking to be an electrical mate, how do I go about it with no commercial experience? Pros and Cons in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I have completed Level 2, currently doing the 18th edition course, I wanted to know, what is it like to get myself into the commercial scene, I read a few forums where electricians say agents mess mates around. How would I get paid as a mate? Do I register myself with the CIS scheme? Do I register myself as a sole trader?

I have never been employed to work on site, how does it all work, would I get an interview or do they just give me a date to come in and talk to me and I get sent to site? Sorry guys so many questions I just want to know what to expect. I have some domestic experience, and have helped a qualified electrician with small rewires, just never been on site, so I have no experience.

Thank you

You'll be able to get an Electrical Labourer ECS card no problem, you just need to do the H&S multiple choice test first then upload your level 2 and 18th edition certificates to the ECS website. You can find more information at:

The agencies aren't too bad in my experience. They skim a bit off your rate (that's how they get paid) so it's in their interest to find work for you. I'm in a similar position to yourself. Got my level 2 and 18th edition and passed my AM2 a couple of months ago, looking for opportunities to get more experience so I can start gathering evidence for my NVQ

You'll be able to get an Electrical Labourer ECS card no problem, you just need to do the H&S multiple choice test first then upload your level 2 and 18th edition certificates to the ECS website. You can find more information at: