Discuss Changed New Light Switch (and old switch) Won't Work in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

After much swearing and cursing (I hope the neighbours didn't hear) I've come online for some help.

We have a dimmer switch in the kitchen and my wife wanted a simple on/off switch instead. Obviously, I switched off the circuit for downstairs. Then, I unscrewed it and took a photo of the wiring:

Rewire_4.jpg

All good so far. Then I wired up the new switch using the instructions:

rewire_5.jpgInstructions.jpg
I tried a few different combinations, but nothing worked. Hey, ho, this isn't my area of expertise. I can't get it working so I'll put the old one back:

rewire_7.jpg

And here's the twist: Still nothing. All the downstairs lights appear to be off except one. I've swapped the switched neutrals in case that was causing it, but nothing works now. I'm no electrician, so I was careful to record what I did in case I needed to retrace my steps, but even that wasn't enough.

If anyone can advise on how to fit the new switch with the instructions, I'd be very grateful. I've taken a day off to do some DIY and this was at the top of my list, and I can't even get that right!

Cheers

Delano

TL;DR
DIY'er messes up downstairs lights by replacing switch
Just an update to show other combinations that I've tried with the new switch:

rewire_a1.jpgrewire_a2.jpg

Needless to say, this still doesn't work.

Thanks, but still no joy. Here's a photo from a different angle. I've marked the wires with nail polish (not mine) to show that they come from the same cable:

rewire_label_1.jpg

I've tried swapping the neutral cables to see if that would work, but still nothing.

The live should complete the circuit, with the extra cable joining wires. Is there anything else I could have missed?