Discuss EICR Report Second Opinion/Explanation of Codes in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I have decided to move house and rent it out, I've just had an EICR report done by a local company and they've come back with a report I'd like advice on.

I'm not sure if anyone in here can help me decipher the report, or if it would be a case of getting another electrician out to re-do the test.

I've attached the full report but the major issues are:

C1 - No main earth
C2 - No bonding on gas
C2 - RCD has IP breach
C2 - Main tails undersized
C2 - DB has IP breach

I am a complete noob and have literally no idea about what any of this means, can anyone break it down in plain English and let me know if they are the correct codes and if £780 to do the repairs sounds accurate?

Many many thanks, James.
[automerge]1599743852[/automerge]
Also just to add to this, it only took the guy about half an hour to do the report, it feels like he did it as quickly as possible and left but I might just be feeling a bit devastated about paying a grand for things I didn't even know needed doing.

Have lived here for 3 years now with no issue so it's a bit hard to take, but take it I will if it's all above board.

Last edited by a moderator:
I would recommend you remove both yours and the electrical companies details from the report.

C1 - No main earth - But he has it listed as 10mm on page 2 of the report, I suspect he has been unable to locate the earth electrode so this should attract FI (further investigation).
C2 - No bonding on gas - Fair one.
C2 - RCD has IP breach - Without seeing it I can't comment.
C2 - Main tails undersized - Should be a minimum of 16mm for the 60 amp supply fuse listed.
C2 - DB has IP breach - Without seeing it I can't comment.