Discuss Engineering Project in the Electrical Engineering Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

IJK

-
Reaction score
Hello All

I'm an electrical engineering HNC student and I'm currently doing a research project about an office rewire. I have to price it up basically. I am not a DIYer looking for a quick way to burn my house down and I won't be doing any real electrical work off the back of anything that is said here.

First up whats the best way of calculating how many PC's I can put on a ring main (I cant just write that some electrician said.......)?

When wiring a ring main, with suspended ceilings and raised flooring, what kind of things would affect the price or make things difficult for a real electrician?

When taking the old wiring out what could affect the price of the job?

In order to price up the rewire what things should I remember to consider? I have 17 workstations each requiring 4 power sockets and a data feed. I have to look at the lighting also

Anything else that I could include in the project would be most appreciated

I'm sure that isn't enough info but its a conversation starter anyway. I have done a fair bit of research and looked a lot of info up but real knowledge and experience has always been better than books

I hope this isn't too much of a slog to answer

Thanks

Hi and welcome. In general we don't provide direct answers to assignment / research questions as it defeats their purpose. But if you would like to post some of yours as a basis for discussion, we can probably help you improve them.

As a starter, for the PCs, consider - running load, inrush, leakage current and maximum permissible number of units affected by a single fault?

Hello Lucien and thanks for the response