Discuss Help with installing 3 way switch to control lights on three separate floors in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
First and foremost I would like to introduce myself.

My name is Faysal and I reside in East London. By profession I am a Operation Manager within the NHS but have a patient to do home electrical DIY project. I picked up basic electrical skills from a young age, tagging along my uncle who was a BT Engineer.

The help I need: Basically I live in a house consisting of Ground floor, First Floor and a Attic Floor. Each of three locations has its own landing lights. At the moment, if I have to switch the attic light off, I have to run all the way to the attic as the lights are on a single switch (good exercise but annoying). It came like this when the house was bought a few months ago.

What I am looking to do is have three 3-gang switch on each floor. I have recently heard of an intermediate switch and haven't quite got my head round it yet. What I would like to ask is, how many 3 gang normal switch and Intermediate switch would I require?

Any help would be much appreciated. I am looking to replace the old wires and install new wires, from what I read, for certain types of connection I may need to use 4 + earth core wires.

Many thanks.

Hi Murdoch,

I agree there will be much decorating work to do, which is factored into this project. I have spent couple days trying to get my head around this as much as I can and came up with the following wiring circuit. In essence I purged a 3 way switch in to a 3 gang unit. I just wanted to make certain this is the most ideal way to wire this setup, or if there is other alternative ways?

Faysal