Discuss Is a 300mA RCD protection against direct contact (Portugal)? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi friendly people,

As you may be aware, I'm a plumber, so quite possibly what I am seeing is correct, though it seems a bit odd to my untrained eyes. Hoping someone might be able to explain a few things to me as I need a bit of reassurance regarding RCD ratings.

I'm currently at a relative's house in Portugal. The person I am staying with bought the house about 5 years ago and has had various work done by the most competent tradesmen they could find as the house had been uninhabited for decades and was in a poor state of repair. This is not the Algarve, but a very rural area where quite a lot of the houses are derelict. The house itself is scruffy, but the owner is happy so long as it is reasonably watertight and safe and she can work on her garden. The electrics have been upgraded and rewired in part, with some of the existing circuits connected to the new consumer units. In general, the wiring I have come across looks to have been carried out without much pride, but seems decent enough and I have seen far far worse.

The mains cutout has a 25A REC/DNO/electricity board current limiter which covers the entire property. One small consumer unit upstairs, and one downstairs. This seems quite a nice way of doing it. Each consumer unit has a 40A rated RCD with an IΔn of 300mA (not sure if it's an RCBO or an RCD, but that's an irrelevance here) protecting C curve MCBs. One floor has a Triton electric shower which has been derated to allow it to work without overloading the dedicated circuit (installed by a local electrician).