Currently reading:
Kit prices

Discuss Kit prices in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I am a qualified PV installer with PV installation experience. I am looking to start my own PV company, so need to do an installation for mcs. Anyone recommend any suppliers for reasonably prices kits for not yet mcs installers?!

Yep you need an installation, and £20k in the bank - check the other threads, "Is it worth it" and Getting Started, all your questions and more will be answered there.

Speak to Segen for their 'get certified' kit or give Yellowvanman a PM :)

I have to say I thought all you lot with your £20K 'rubbish' were just doom and gloom mongerers........................

£20K later...........

Now I have all the bells and whistles, but have crippled the cash flow of my nice electrical business and have nothing left to do the marketing!!!!!!!!!

If I had any hair I would have pulled it all out!!!!!!!!.

I really thought you were all talking POO!

Last edited:
They did go over this on previous posts, I really thought exageration was the name of the game!

Course fees, hotel and travel, admin, new files, filling cabinets, software, new tools, MCS, Easy MCS, REAL, loss of earnings, running at nearly a month for me at present, Elecsa part p at the same time as it saves a couple of quid, new business so new public liability, professional indemnity, employers liability, sign write the van, new stationary, new web site......It goes on and on and on..

On a positive note, I have landed 2 contracts in my first month of trading?????????????

@cbw

There are a few of us that have been very open about the costs and effort involved in getting MCS accredited and we regularly get shot down in flames, so

1) It's a shame it really does cost that and there is no cheap shortcut.
2) Thanks for having the guts and being honest enough to admit we told you so.