Discuss RCD tripping straight after smart meter install in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

jlisco

DIY
Reaction score
Hello,

Firstly, I'm aware other people have posted similar topics on this forum, I'm not trying to create a duplicate, but more looking for advice as to the distance between my smart meter and the tripping RCD.

I had a smart meter fitted yesterday, and straight after the installation, the engineer called me in and said I had a faulty RCD or a faulty appliance in the kitchen that the RCD box feeds (I'm not an electrician so apologies if my terminology is off here).

Anyway, I flipped the switch back and it seems to be totally random on when it trips. This ranges between minutes to hours.

I decided to start trying to isolate the problem. I unplugged and turned off EVERYTHING in the kitchen except the fridge. This worked for about half an hour then it tripped. So I unplugged and turned off the fridge socket and plugged in the washing machine at the other side of the room. The same thing happened some time later.

I was then told if the appliance was faulty it would trip straight away.

Anyway, I'm currently trying to get in touch with SSE who fitted my meter to get them to check before I pay money to an electrician.

Why I wait, I was hoping to get some advice. Is my meter too far away from the RCD box to cause the trip? Also, does anybody know what RCD make/model I have? I'll attach a photo (smart meter highlighted in yellow, tripping RCD in red)

Thanks in advance

Edit: one other thing to add, the gas smart meter is about the same distance away off to the bottom right of the tripping RCD.RCD tripping straight after smart meter install IMG_4051 - EletriciansForums.net

Last edited by a moderator: