Discuss Advice on Telephone and Ethernet points please! in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all

Personally not had much experience in telephone and ethernet points so was hoping for some advice please.
Running a supply for a garage which is being converted into an office. The fella would like a BT and Internet point in there as it is too far from his house for wireless (approx 20 meters)
Running the supply in SWA on a wall and noticed there was an SWA telephone cable available on the market. Now in order to get both telephone and internet would I have to run 2 cables (if so I wanted to avoid) The alternative being running the telephone and CAT5E in a conduit.
Couple of questions.. Is there a better way of doing this? and will the distance of the run give a poor signal?

I'm not so much worried about the BT point as these are straight forward, done a few in the past but I am by no means an expert, it is more the internet that I'm worrying about.

Any advice appreciated!

Thanks

With ethernet you don't want runs in excess of 100m so you should be OK and maybe you should consider just using 2 x CAT 5 cables.

Why are you considering SWA phone cable? are you burying it?

Another way of achieving the internet would be to consider using powerline adaptors - one in the house and another in the office!

I am not burying it, but the run is behind bushes/flower beds, so just in case it gets whacked with a spade!
Powerline adapter seems reasonable. Do they work well? You know what these office type people are like lol

If it was me I would recommend dedicated lines for power, internet and phone - buts thats just me.

Do it once, do it properly!

EDIT: I use the Devolo Powerline range in my house - they are not the cheapest but they are easy to set up and I've never had any problems. We stream Iplayer on our BT fiber line and have never had any issues.

Last edited by a moderator: