Search the forum,

Discuss Dont Bite my head off straight away! in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

sammyb10017

Hi All,

I'm new to the site and am after some advice from some experienced sparks and also apologise as I am almost certain this will probably have been covered before.
I have been an electrician for 7 years and for the past 6 months have been self employed. I'm very comfortable with work and havent really had to go looking for too much but it is mainly sub-contracting work for one particular company. I am after some advice in how I can approach builders/developers/other electrical companies about quoting through my company rather than subcontract on a day rate.
Myself and 2 other Electricians are interested in quoting for bigger installations but am at a loose end on how to approach companies.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Not sure I can help with advice on approaching builders & developers, I try to avoid working directly for any of these, in case they can't or won't pay me, I always prefer to work for the end-customer.

If you write a letter of introduction specifying the companies skills and capabilities and state that you would welcome the opportunity to provide them with price details for their next available undertaking to demonstrate the benefits of working with us, then this would be a start, a bit like sending a CV for a job but sending a company CV for a business cooperation.
Get contact details where possible or ask on sites who the main boss is.

If you are wanting to work for large operations then you will need to get your tender process in place first.

Good first post matey, don't be put off by some of the "aggressive" types.

I too avoid working for builders, in general they are too disorganised, add "stupid" margin to my quotes and getting payments can be a test of your nerves.

Sorry if this isn't too helpful