Discuss How is this switch powered? I thought all circuits needed a neutral? in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Usual problem with smart switches - no neutral at the switch, been plenty of threads on it before.

Fortunately managed to find some switches that don't need one. So the circuit's permanently 'complete' since the switch is permanently 'on', and actually power is going to the light, but not enough to actually glow.

My question is this: I'm not an electrician so I'm new to this, but I thought all circuits needed a neutral to be 'complete' and provide power, due to the potential difference between the live and neutral. Yet this switch intercepts only the live, so how does this device not need neutral? Or more to the point, how is it getting power?

Thanks in advance, I know I'm missing something basic here, as I say I'm just still in the process of working all this out.

How is this switch powered? I thought all circuits needed a neutral? 1585810592449 - EletriciansForums.net

Attachments

• How is this switch powered? I thought all circuits needed a neutral? 1585810130504 - EletriciansForums.net
    1585810130504.png
    130.7 KB · Views: 6
Last edited:
Hi - yes the circuit is completed via the load’s impedance. If the lamp was burnt out the switch wouldn’t work either. But the switch has nothing to switch then so no problem.

By Ohm’s Law, with a very very small current flow through the internals of the switch’s circuitry there is very little voltage drop across the load, which itself is connected to N and completes the circuit.

Thanks for the reply mate, appreciate it!