Discuss How to obscure load signatures that smart meters record cheaply in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

cheatcode

DIY
Reaction score
So, big brother is coming to my town, and is rolling out those fancy smart meters.

My question is, what is the cheapest way to mask the loads devices give as signatures to the power company? Would putting a device behind a UPS make the device type not known to the power company? If not, would putting a DC circuit and an AC inverter between the device and the wall work to obscure what it is? I understand that time correlation is a part of how they detect what a device is, but I'm more concerned with obscuring the devices "Load Signature" if that makes sense.

Sorry for my misuse of any technical terms, I am a layman concerning electrical.

Thanks in advance!

What are you trying to achieve? Sound like you are trying to deceive the power company which is, err, dodgy.

I simply want the power company not to know what devices I'm using, just how much power I'm drawing. I want to achieve privacy that's all, happy to pay for what I use.

There are ted talks etc where people explain that they keep some kind of load signatures and can correlate that data against your usage to know what devices you have in your home.

I'm guessing he's referring to the privacy issues of newer generation smart meters analyzing the power signatures of a household load and their ability to recognize individual appliances.

Attachments

• energies-14-00719-v2.pdf
    419.2 KB · Views: 20
I'm guessing he's referring to the privacy issues of newer generation smart meters analyzing the power signatures of a household load and their ability to recognize individual appliances.
Exactly. Ill read that doc soon, I have not seen it before.

I just want to be able to isolate a circuit so the devices on that circuit cant be determined using this technology.