Currently reading:
Tt system

Discuss Tt system in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

Blueblood

HI, I am an industrial maintenance electrician. A friend who does not live in my area has asked me a question can anyone please advise. He has had an electrician replace his consumer unit. It is a TT system. The electrician has installed the earth rod under the floorboards by the new consumer unit and there is no RCD fitted to the supply. He has not recieved the test cert. yet so I don't know what the readings are. I am going down to see him next week so I wanted to make sure I have all the correct information. Am I correct in thinking that as the supply has no RCD the rod should be measured with an earth electrode resistant tester and 2 test spikes and looking for a reading less than 200OHMs. Ideally I think an RCD shoul be installed, can you advise what size.

Cheers

The person who did this job must also be registered with a competent person scheme ie NICEIC NAPIT or ELECSA. If he is not building control had to be informed before work commenced if it was not considered an emergency and if an emergency building control has to be advised as soon as possible.

If he is a member of one of the above schemes you must put your complaint in writing to him and give him time to rectify. Should he fail to do so then complain to his scheme provider enclosing a copy of the original letter to him.

If not a member then trading standards is the next port of call.

Best of luck

Chris

Hi. Thanks for your reply. I have contacted my mate and he tells me that the sockets are protected with a 30mA RCD. He is more concerned with the fact that the earthrode has been installed under the floorboards and that there is no RCD fitted to the supply. Please can you advise, so that I can check it out for him when I get there. Cheers

Tt must be covered by rcd.