Discuss (UK) Adding additional circuits into old fuse box in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all,

First post here, hope I'm compliant with the rules! I did do a quick search before asking this, but I couldn't quite come up with the answer so I thought it best to ask!

I'm currently going through and renovating some of my property, and the garage wiring is of some slight concern to me. Currently, the garage appears to be wired off of a spur upstairs which then exits through the external wall, is not at all supported in its 2m journey over the gap between the house and the garage, enters the garage, and is spurred into a lighting circuit and 3 sockets. This is clearly far from ideal, and as I'm a hobbyist engineer and intend to run some reasonably beefy motors in the garage I would like to upgrade this installation.

My intention, subject to your validation, is to use one of the two spare slots I have on my consumer unit and take a new circuit off into the garage into it's own small consumer unit. I have a number of questions regarding this:

1) The house was constructed in the mid-70's, and has an old Wylex fuse wire based consumer unit. This unit is obviously old, but completely functional, and has two unused spaces that I could put a new circuit on. My plan is to complete all the wiring work myself, and then have a qualified electrician inspect my work and, if deemed worthy, have them connect it into the consumer unit. Is it still legal/within regulation to add a new circuit into this rather old unit? I understand that this is far from ideal, but I would ideally very much like to avoid the expense of replacing the consumer unit at this stage. It is my intention to install a rotary switch below the consumer unit to seperately isolate the garage circuit.