Discuss (Wrong category I know) Need advice on plumbing my own house? in the Electricians Chat - Off Topic Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Firstly I know I’ve posted this in the wrong category, I couldn’t find the right one for some reason. I’m a industrial/domestic electrician, I’m doing a rear extension and loft conversion on my bungalow myself. I’m of course doing the electrics myself and I’m looking at plumbing the CH and DHW/cold myself, either in plastic or copper and getting a plumber in to fit the boiler and pipe the gas.

I’ve looked into pipe sizing etc I’m just looking for anyone who has advice on the best routing for the flow/return, insulating in chased walls and comparability of mixers for showers.
Basically any advice at all would be helpful, thanks

You may be better asking on plumbers forums.net

Part of the same group as electricians forums.net it focuses on plumbing and has plumbers on who may be able to give you a better answer

They might say get a plumber in.....only joking :)

If I was doing what your doing @Tyrone Thompson, I would all joking aside, get the specific trades in. You might save a few pounds, doing it yourself, but it will take a lot longer. Some of the stuff you can do yourself, stud work, plasterboarding, etc but I'd leave the plumbing etc to the tradeperson. Just my opinion.

They might say get a plumber in.....only joking :)

If I was doing what your doing @Tyrone Thompson, I would all joking aside, get the specific trades in. You might save a few pounds, doing it yourself, but it will take a lot longer. Some of the stuff you can do yourself, stud work, plasterboarding, etc but I'd leave the plumbing etc to the tradeperson. Just my opinion.