Discuss Becoming An Electrician (Already Fully Qualified Gas Engineer) in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

Dev1872

Alright guys looking for some advice, I am currently a fully qualified gas engineer for one of the bigger energy companies. I am looking to add to my skills and would love to becoming a qualified electrician, this was what I originally wanted to be 5 years ago at 16. My company are quite open to re-training and would allow me time to work with a qualified spark, makes it easier I do a 4 even sometimes 3 day week for 6 months of the year. Just wondering what would be the best route, if I could align a course and some on site work or if its best to do this at college, wouldn't mind paying for a course if I could gain all relevant qualifications tied in with on site training/experience. Cheers!

If your company is willing to help you out with days at college and work placements, then the best route is to contact your local college and enquire about the city and guilds 2357 (this incorporates all you need to be qualified i,e tech cert, nvq3 and AM2...........if you need to go to night classes then the city and guilds 2365 is the route to take (this is your tech cert) then complete the nvq3 and AM2 separately...

Yeah would probably be night classes. How do you go about doing the separate nvq and AM2, sorry if these are stupid questions just want to know what is needed before I go enquiring.

Reply to Becoming An Electrician (Already Fully Qualified Gas Engineer) in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

There's been a few changes recently at the company I work for. 2 electrical supervisors and the contract manager left towards the end of last...
Replies
Views
Hi everyone, Sorry, I won't take much of your time. To cut a long story short, I am newly qualified and have domestic installation/commercial...
Replies
Views