Discuss Help required with tails/SWA routeing and DNO supply issues. in the Industrial Electricians' Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

mbga9pgf

Hi all, very sorry to bother you with triv. I am in the process of sorting out some pretty shocking electics in a house that has been bodged at every stage.

Just so you all know, I am not on an approved scheme, however, I have a masters in electrical and electronic engineering. I am at the design stage and am trying to put as much of my home wiring right. To give you an idea of some of the things I have had to sort

6mm Twin and earth submain between 2 buildings left lying across the grass, protected by a 45A MCB. Terminated into a CU supplying amongst other things, a 10mm cable supplying a 9Kw shower and a 6mm halogen hob.The fact that it was left lying over the front lawn probably prevented it from overheating.

1.5mm T+E lighting cable wrapped round a 22mm copper central heating hot water feed pipe. He had installed a 16mm earth line to the ground spike (tt system), unfortunately, he hadnt bothered connecting the other loose end from the earth block by bonding the pipework. t+E showing signs of melting. I wonder how long before the rads became live?

no earthing in 2 way lighting switches. Metal fronted lighting switches may I add.

Anyways, those issues are now resolved. I managed to rewire the submain temporarily into the main CU, with a 16mm cable and a 50A MCB, works a treat and we no longer have wires in the garden.