Discuss PIR timer override in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
As always, I'm a level 2 student so please ignore the ignorance.

Is it possible, and if so how, to wire up a PIR with a switch that has the ability to turn the light off after the PIR has been activated. Or in all cases do you have to wait for the timer to expire?

Side question - are there any other applications for a PIR? Are they used for anything other than switching on lights?

Thanks in advance

you can override a pir, either forcing it on or forcing it off.

why don't you have a go at drawing a diagram of how you might wire it so you can force the light on when the pir is off

then try to change the drawing so that you can force the light off when the pir is on

finally you can combine the drawings and come up with a circuit that allows the light to be switched on-off-auto using a 3 way switch.

p.s pir detectors are often used for intruder alarms, sounders, beacons and sometimes gates.

Best me to it buzz

I like Matt and his vids but definitely found JW easier to follow on this.

ETA: Drop Dan or Lou a PM and jump in the trainees section.
off topic. but do you want this 20A isolator with MCB for your rig. takes up a lot less room than that cut-out.

Reply to PIR timer override in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

I've a light fitting that's controlled from a Whitecroft absence detector PIR and a wall switch. The way it works, is the Retractive wall switch...
Replies
Views
Hi. I'm an I.T.. engineer with some outdated electrical experience. I qualified C&G 2330 17th edition about 15 years ago, but my only experience...
Replies
Views
Driven by the recent colossal hikes in the cost of electricity I hit upon the wizard wheeze of replacing some of the existing LED bulbs in our own...
Replies
Views