Currently reading:
Tax -what can I claim?

Discuss Tax -what can I claim? in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

amckay

What can I claim against on my income tax?
Specifically can I claim for motor insurance, tax and mot (and associated repairs)?
I'm pretty sure I can't claim for the cost of a van which I own but I can claim for one that I lease? Is that right?
My missus is a house wife and stays at home to rear my offspring so instead of paying an accountant I'll send her on an accountancy course (it'll do her good for when our son starts school etc) and she can sort out tax returns and stuff like that

Electrical Trainee accountant? Could be a false economy mate.
In your position I'd go to see one, there could be something in your personal circumstances that we don't know which could mean that you can claim something I can't.
I'm an electrician, not an accountant.
:)

claim your van as capital allowance. it used to be 25% of it's value per annum. motor running costs can be done i 2 ways.

1. book everything you spend, fuel/repairs/road tax/insurance etc. or
2. book your annua lbusiness mileage with hmrc. they allow you approx. 40p/mile

Specifically can I claim for motor insurance, tax and mot (and associated repairs)?
I'm pretty sure I can't claim for the cost of a van which I own but I can claim for one that I lease? Is that right?
My missus is a house wife and stays at home to rear my offspring so instead of paying an accountant I'll send her on an accountancy course (it'll do her good for when our son starts school etc) and she can sort out tax returns and stuff like that

Don't be a tight arse go and get an accountant, may save some dosh

Haha I knew you'd say summat like that trev.
Sole Trader

Is this the first one you've done? if so you have until next January to submit it on line so it may well be worth consulting a local accountant. It shouldn't cost too much and getting it right is a good step forward.