Discuss Attic lighting not working - What's wrong with the wiring? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

globalnic

Hi all, This may be one for the DIY forum, but I'm unable to post there, so I apologise if posting here is the wrong thing to do. I'm not a qualified electrician, but have taught myself how to changes light fixtures, switches, sockets etc - always after cutting all power from the mains and testing to make sure all connections are dead. We've recently bought a house (new build style, built 2006), and I've ventured into the attic after 1 week to see what's up there. There's a light fitted, which won't work. I've changed the bulb and checked the wiring of the ceiling rose (all looked fine), but no luck. Looking at the switch, it was wired differently to other switches I have seen. It appears to be a 1 gang 2 way switch with 2 T&E cables. Switches I have worked on before have been wired to work 1 way (even if on a 2 way switch), but have always just had the one T&E cable in to the box - this has two (I assume one for power in and one out to the light).

Live into COM, Neutral into L2, Earth twisted loosely with the earth from cable 2. Cable 2:Live into L1, Neutral into L2, Earth twisted loosely with the earth from cable 1. From the switch point of view: COM = 1 x live L1 = 1 x live L2 = 2 x neutral.

Aside from the fact I would have covered the earth with green and yellow and connected it to the earthing screw on the switch plate, it kinda makes sense to me: when the switch is on, the circuit connects the live wires taking power to the light, where the neutral wires are then connected back down through the switch and to cable 1. So what I want to clarify is:

1 - is my logic correct in how it should work?

2 - if so, should this still work with the neutral cables in L2 as shown in the pic, or should they be twisted together outside of the switch and covered separately in the box?