Discuss Selecting the proper solar panel/ battery system for 12v LED strip in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all,

Complete novice here, but I'm trying to learn.

I am making a solar powered, back-lit estate/ driveway entrance sign, and am stuck regarding the correct wattage, amperage, etc for the panel and battery.

I'm planning to use 5 meters of 12v 18w strip, but would like to be able to use 10 meters if necessary.

The idea is to use a photoelectric switch so that it will charge during the day and last 8+ hours at night.

Can anyone give me advice on the specs of solar panel and battery that might be needed?

TL;DR
Choose solar panel and battery combo for 12v led strip lights.
Hi
I do not suggest you to use the 18W LED strip light, you will have to use very expensive battery and solar panel to match it.
Instead I strongly suggest you to use 8-10W LED strip light with high lumen output, such as 150LM/W.

For the solar panel and battery, you should ask the solar panel and battery supplier to make the recommendation.

Reply to Selecting the proper solar panel/ battery system for 12v LED strip in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Hi all, I converting a van to a camper and wanted lights for underneath the kitchen cabinet. I purchased this led light strip for Home Depot...
Replies
Views
Hi everyone, I have a quick question if I may? I'm thinking of adding a second PV system to my existing rooftop PV & battery setup. As the...
Replies
Views
Hello everyone my name is Tarek, i work as a concert and show lighting operator with over 20 years of experience in this field, so i have gained...
Replies
Views
Hi there. I'm building a house and need some help with the LED lighting design. Lots of experience wiring things, some experience using LEDs (did...
Replies
Views